Did You Know? The Books Of Old Testament 39 or 24?

Did you know that there are 66 books in the Bible?

There are 39 books that make up the Old Testament.

There are 27 books that make up the New Testament.

The Jewish Talmud says there are 24 books that make up the Jewish scriptures. This is not in conflict with the 39 books we have. Many ancient people counted the Old Testament scriptures in this way.

Here’s why they are grouped together in 24 books.

The books of 1 and 2 Samuel were originally one book.

The same was true of 1 and 2 Kings and 1 and 2 Chronicles.

When these were translated from Hebrew to Greek, they couldn’t fit on a single scroll. Therefore, they were divided into two books.

Something else to think about are the Minor Prophets. There are 12 books referred to as the Minor Prophets. Not because they are not important. But rather, because of the size of them compared to other prophet books like Isaiah, Jeremiah, etc.

Since these writings are so small, they were all grouped together on a single scroll and counted collectively as one book.

The same can be said about Ezra and Nehemiah.

There you have 24 books. They are the same books that we have in our Old Testament (39). They are merely grouped differently.

Have a Great Day!


the old testament in the bible
Photo by Christiane on

I CAN DO and SO CAN YOU. Life is all about having the right kind of attitude. We will face challenges. We have to decide how we will respond. Getting an ICD (Internal Cardio-Verter Defibrillator) in 2010 forced me to make a decision about my mindset. I decided that I CAN DO. What about you? Let's go. Check out my blog at and my books on Amazon at

%d bloggers like this: